October 24, 2017

Assault Charge Defense

violation of probation Houston,  deferred adjudication Houston,  deferred adjudication in texas Houston,  deferred adjudication speeding ticket Houston,  what is deferred adjudication Houston,  texas deferred adjudication Houston,  violating probation Houston,  deferred adjudication texas Houston,  violation of probation in houston Houston,  probation violation Houston,  probation Houston,  violation probation Houston,  violation of probation consequences Houston,  probation violation consequences Houston,  criminal lawyer texas Houston,  deferred adjudication probation Houston,  criminal law violation of probation Houston,  probation violation lawyers Houston,  criminal defense attorney Houston,  what is probation Houston,  criminal defense lawyer Houston,  criminal defense Houston,  criminal attorney Houston,  criminal lawyers Houston,  defense attorney Houston,  probation violation lawyer Houston,  defense lawyer Houston,  violate probation Houston,  criminal attorneys Houston,  probation violations Houston,  felony charges deferred adjudication Houston,  expunge Houston,  dui deferred  adjudication lawyer  Houston,  expungement Houston,  dui deferred adjudication attorney Houston,  probation violation attorney Houston, Assault Charges – Felony Assault/Misdemeanor Assault Defense

If you are facing any type of assault charge, you should contact a Houston criminal defense attorney who will make sure that your rights are protected. Assault cases are taken serious in Texas, and you need an aggressive defense lawyer by your side. Brittany Carroll Lacayo will fight to achieve the best possible result for your assault charge, which may result in dismissed charges, reduced charges, or minimized punishment.

In Texas, an individual will be charged with assault if the person:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse;
  • Intentionally or knowingly threatens another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse; or
  • Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.

PUNISHMENTS FOR ASSAULT

An assault will be classified as a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500 if:

  • The assault is committed by intentionally or knowingly threatening another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse; or
  • The assault is committed by intentionally or knowingly causing physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.
  • Exceptions:
    • If the offense is committed against an elderly or disabled individual, then it will be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in county jail, and a $4,000 fine.
    • If the offense is committed by a person who is not a sports participant against a person the actor knows is a sports participant either acting as a sports participant, or in retaliation of the person acting as a sports participant, then it will be classified as a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in county jail, and a $2,000 fine.

An assault will be classified as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by not more than 1 years in county jail and up to a $4,000 fine, if:

  • The assault is committed by intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse.

Assault can become a Third-Degree Felony, punishable by 2 – 10 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000 if:

  • The assault was committed against a family member, former spouse, parent of a child in common, or someone with whom they are in a romantic relationship, and you have a previous family violence conviction;
  • The assault was committed against a family member, former spouse, parent of a child in common, or someone with whom they are in a romantic relationship, and the offense was committed by intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly chocking the person or blocking the person’s nose or mouth;
  • You knew the person was a public servant or government contractor lawfully discharging an official duty, or the assault was committed in retaliation of the performance of his/her job; or
  • You knew the person was a security guard or an emergency services worker and you committed the assault while the person was performing his/her job.

Assault becomes a Second-Degree Felony, punishable by 2 – 20 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000 if:

  • The offense is committed against a family member, former spouse, parent of a child in common, or someone with whom they are in a romantic relationship;
  • You have a pervious family violence conviction; and
  • The offense is committed by intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly chocking the person or blocking the person’s nose or mouth.

AGGRAVATED ASSAULT

A person can be charged with aggravated assault which is a Second-Degree Felony punishable by 2 – 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine if they:

  • Cause serious bodily injury to another person, or
  • Use or exhibit a deadly weapon during the commission of the assault.

An aggravated assault will be classified as a First-Degree Felony punishable by 5 – 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000 if:

  • The individual uses a deadly weapon during the assault and causes serious bodily to a family member, former spouse, parent of a child in common, or someone with whom they are in a romantic relationship;
  • The offense is committed by a public servant acting under the color of the servant’s office or employment;
  • The office is committed against a person the actor knows is a public servant while the public servant is performing his/her job;
  • The offense was committed against or on account of the service of another person as a witness, prospective witness, informant, or person who has reported the occurrence of a crime;
  • The offense is committed against a person the actor knows is a security officer while the officer is doing his/her job; or
  • The individual is in a motor vehicle and discharges a firearm toward a habitation, building or vehicle while being reckless as to whether it is occupied resulting in the serious bodily injury of another person.


If you have been charged with felony or misdemeanor assault contact Brittany Carroll Lacayo at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation.


The information contained on this site is for general informational purposes only. The information you obtain at this website is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult a Houston criminal defense attorney for advice regarding your own individual situation. We invite you to contact Brittany Carroll Lacayo at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation. Use of this website or submission of an online form, does not create an attorney-client relationship.


Brittany Carroll Lacayo, Houston Criminal Defense Attorney Areas of Practice
DUI/DWI/Drunk Driving Defense Illegal Drug Charges Defense Marijuana Charges Defense
Meth Charges Defense Violation of Probation Charges Defense Assault Charges Defense
Domestic Violence Charges Defense Clear Your Record/Expunge Your Record Criminal Mischief Charges Defense